Go Goa

Poolside 1 BHK Apartment in Resort

Siolim, Goa, India
Serene Siolim- Gateway to the pristine beaches of North Goa at Tropical Dreams Resort with Lush green surroundings Ground Floor across the biggest swimming pool in Goa is furnished with SplitAC Ref...
Vacation Rentals in Siolim
Hinduism is the Only Dharma in this multiverse comprising of Science & Quantum Physics.

Josh Schrei helped me understand G-O-D (Generator-Operator-Destroyer) concept of the divine that is so pervasive in the Vedic tradition/experience. Quantum Theology by Diarmuid O'Murchu and Josh Schrei article compliments the spiritual implications of the new physics. Thanks so much Josh Schrei.

Started this blogger in 2006 & pageviews of over 0.622 Million speak of the popularity.

Dhanyabad from Anil Kumar Cheeta


Friday, December 3, 2010

Lord Shiva in the Panchamukha Shivalinga--Aum Pancvaktraye Vidmahe Mahadevaye Dhimahi Tanno Rudra Prachodayat

Aum Pancvaktraye Vidmahe Mahadevaye Dhimahi Tanno Rudra Prachodayat

To Lord Shiva, for easing problems, and giving peace & prosperity:

Aum Pancvaktraye Vidmahe Mahadevaye Dhimahi Tanno Rudra Prachodayat.

Aum. Let us meditate on the great Lord with five faces. May that fierce Rudra inspire and illumine our mind and understanding.

Lord Shiva is worshipped as Panchanana Shiva (Shiva with five faces).

The five faces are etched on Shivling or Shivalingam and is known as Panchamukha Shiva Linga – five heads of Shiva carved on Linga. 

The five faces of Lord Shiva are known as Sadyojat, Vamdev, Aghora, Tatpurush and Ishana. And they represent direction and an aspect of Lord Shiva. Some ancient temples also have sculptures of Lord Shiva with five faces. Some paintings also depict Shiva with five faces.

An important prayer (Stotra) dedicated to Panchanana Shiva is the Shiva Panchanana Stotram. It explains about the glory of the each face of Lord Shiva in the Panchamukha Shivalinga.

As per the prayer, the four faces of Shiva faces four directions and the fifth faces the sky.

In some texts, the fifth face facing the sky is replaced by a face on the southeast direction. Another symbolism suggests that the fifth face is the energy that sustains all and is present everywhere. Most statues do not show the fifth face that is the Ishana face.

Scholars and saints have given numerous interpretations for the five faces. There are also some symbolisms associated with the each faces.

Sadyojat faces west and represents creation

Vamdev faces north and represents sustenance

Aghora faces south and represents dissolution.

Tatpurisha faces east and represent spirituality that has destroyed the ego.

Ishana face in the Shivling is described differently in various texts. In some texts, it is believed to be the face facing the sky and symbolizes purity and destruction of ego. Another interpretation suggests that Ishana is the Self and the energy that holds all the aspects together. In some interpretations, Ishana face is shown as facing Southeast direction and represents Eternal Shiva or Shiva as the Supreme Soul.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts


Search This Blog